50th gala banner

50th Anniversary Gala

50th Anniversary Gala

Kristin, 2 students with lion mascot, gala attendees sitting at tables in Parsons Hall

On Friday, May 11, over 180 alumni, faculty, friends, and staff attended Penn State Brandywine’s 50th Anniversary Gala, held in the campus’ new Student Union, to raise support for the Brandywine Emergency Scholarship Fund. The generous support provided by sponsors, advertisers, donors, and guests helped Brandywine to raise over $130,000 for Brandywine students in need.   

The cocktail reception featured acoustic music by Matt Santry and a performance by magician Chad Juros while attendees bid on over 70 auction items. For dinner, guests enjoyed a tapas style menu in the Blue Apple Café. Emcee Jeremy Branch ’06 welcomed guests and introduced Chancellor Kristin Woolever who announced the public launch of The Greater Penn State Campaign for 21st Century Excellence. Public recognition was given to the late John D. Unangst, president and CEO of the Franklin Mint Federal Credit Union, for his service on the Brandywine Advisory Board, as well as to Brandywine’s first Lion’s Heart Award recipients. Student speaker Chevelle Thomas ’21 shared her personal story of how scholarships make it possible for her to overcome hardships to attend Brandywine. Guests were invited to make a pledge to support students in need, which led to over $30,000 in additional pledge support. Following the program, John Savage and the Classic Rockers kicked off the dance party with their rendition of hits throughout the decades. 

Thank you to everyone who made Brandywine’s 50th Anniversary Gala an incredible success. Brandywine students will feel the positive impact of this event for years to come thanks to YOUR generosity!  

WE ARE ...!

You can view photos of the event here.

Special thanks to Brandywine’s 50th Anniversary Gala Committee for their help with making this event a success:

Paul Alberici ’16 | Mike Gambol ’90 | Patricia Hillen |Margie Rosenberg
Ruth Savage ’82 | Peg Schipper ’79 | Michael Reid Sturm 
Kathleen Yanoshak