Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index


-Story by Senior Joseph Van Wyk

Forget about tax day, April 15 should be forever remembered as pride day, and Penn State Brandywine was overwhelmed with a sense of Penn State Pride as it recognized individuals from the campus for their outstanding work inside and outside of the classroom at the Spring 2010 Academic Awards Ceremony.

The day kicked off at 11:30 a.m. as students who have engaged in undergraduate research throughout the year showed off their research projects in the Commons Building gymnasium during EURECA (Exposition of Undergraduate Research Enterprise and Creative Accomplishment). The program is designed so students can present an abstract of their work in the form of posters, computer presentations and videos in a professional setting, giving them practical experience for real-world situations.

Immediately following EURECA, members and friends of the campus joined for another celebration of achievement. The campus honored junior June Carfagno, of Clifton Heights; sophomore Andrew Dombalagian, of Havertown; sophomore Christina Felizzi, of West Chester; and Danielle Gridley as new inductees into the international English honor society, Sigma Tau Delta. Felizzi and Dombalagian also joined junior Benjamin Bean, of Glen Mills; junior Jill Gillin, of Springfield; senior Jacqueline Glace, of Springfield; junior Iris Thai, of Upper Darby; and senior Shake Jebejian, of Newtown Square, as they were inducted into the Phi Kappa Phi honorary society.
In addition to the 166 students recognized for academic achievement in their respective degree programs at the event, the campus also recognized the recipients of the 2010 President’s Freshman Award, presented annually to undergraduate students who have earned a 4.0 cumulative grade-point average based on at least 12 graded Penn State credits (not to exceed 35 total credits earned): Christopher Gramlich, of West Chester; Skylar Luxon; Jurgen Kasa, of Upper Darby; Patricia McGinnis, of Newtown Square; Thomas Wagner, of Broomall; Jeremy Lim, of Media; and Allison Rodia, of Drexel Hill.

Sophomore Vickie Francis, of Glen Mills, was honored as the winner of the President Sparks Award, given annually to undergraduate students who have earned a 4.0 cumulative grade-point average based on at least 36 graded Penn State credits (not to exceed 59 total credits earned).

Representing the campus’ outstanding faculty, Instructor in Human Development and Family Studies Katherine Meehan, of Chadds Ford, was named the 2010 Distinguished Teacher, which recognizes a full-time faculty member who provides distinguished teaching while providing encouragement and incentive for teaching excellence and contributions to the Penn State Brandywine campus community.

Kathy Meehan

Senior Instructor in Business Administration Richard Barrett, of Exton, was this year’s recipient of the George W. Franz Advising and Mentoring Award, recognizing teachers who merit in student advising and mentoring.

Richard Barrett

The Undergraduate Research Faculty and Student Research Awards were given to Professor of Chemistry Michael De Rosa, of Wallingford, and sophomore Sara Neville, of West Chester, respectively.

Michael De Rosa

Sara Neville

Professor of English Phyllis B. Cole, of Lansdowne, was honored with the Faculty Research Program Award, which honors and recognizes scholarly or creative excellence in any area of the arts, humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, engineering, business or communication and rewards a substantial series of contributions or a single exceptional contribution to any of these areas.

Phyllis Cole

Senior Rebecca Hart, of Unionville, was honored with the Dr. Randall Stout Memorial Award, established in memory of Stout, who served as professor of economics at Penn State for 36 years. The award honors a senior who has demonstrated superior academic performance and outstanding participation in the bachelor of science in business program at the campus.

Professor of Human Development and Family Studies Cynthia Lightfoot, of Exton, received the Madlyn Hanes Faculty Award, which recognizes a full-time faculty member at the campus who has made outstanding contributions to the campus community through exceptional achievement in teaching, research, scholarship, creative activity or service.

Cynthia Lightfoot

To view and/or order photos from the event, go to http://www.digiproofs.com/thirdeyepro/ and enter 041510 in the guest password field.

Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter